WhichCodingPlan

Kiro vs Zed: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • Zed has the cheaper paid entry: Pro at $10/mo vs Kiro Pro at $20/mo.
  • Top individual tier: Kiro Power $200/mo vs Zed Pro $10/mo.
  • How usage is metered — Kiro: Vendor credits (credit-per-task not disclosed); Zed: Dollar-denominated credits.
  • Zed publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Kiro does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: Claude Sonnet 5.5 (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileKiroZed
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo
Pro+ — $40/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Pro — $19–$47/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo
Power — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Pro — $110–$320/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo
Power — $200/mo
Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown
Pro — $612–$1,826/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Kiro plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$050 creditsResets monthly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$20 /mo1,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro+$40 /mo2,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Pro Max$100 /mo5,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Power$200 /mo10,000 creditsResets monthly$0.04/credit
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed

Zed plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Personal$0BYOK——
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$10 /mo$5 of tokens—API list price +10%
Verified 2026-10-18
Business$30 /seatNot published——
Verified 2026-10-18

Sources

Kiro pricing · Zed pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.