WhichCodingPlan

Cursor vs Zed: pricing, limits & real cost

Prices verified 2026-10-18

Key differences

  • Cursor has the cheaper paid entry: Plus at $8/mo vs Zed Pro at $10/mo.
  • Top individual tier: Cursor Ultra $200/mo vs Zed Pro $10/mo.
  • How usage is metered — Cursor: Usage multiplier (absolute capacity not disclosed); Zed: Dollar-denominated credits.
  • Zed publishes a dollar-denominated allowance, so cost can be estimated from tokens; Cursor does not disclose absolute capacity.

Estimated monthly cost by usage profile

Model used: Claude Sonnet 5.5 (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.

ProfileCursorZed
Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo
Premium — $43–$68/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Pro — $19–$47/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo
Premium — $125–$316/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Pro — $110–$320/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo
Premium — $582–$1,685/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Pro — $612–$1,826/mo
Computed from published $ rates
Tweak →

For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.

Cursor plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0Limited Agent/chatResets weekly—
Verified 2026-10-18
Plus$8 /mo
$80/yr annual
Base usage pool; Grok (4.7/4.6/4.5) & Cursor Composer 2.5 models onlyResets weeklyCursor-model top-ups at listed rates
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Premium$30 /mo
$300/yr annual
4x Plus pool; third-party models (Claude/GPT/Gemini) billed at API list price from prepaid creditResets weeklyAPI list price
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Super$100 /mo
$1000/yr annual
15x Plus poolResets weeklyAPI list price
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Ultra$200 /mo
$2000/yr annual
50x Plus poolResets weeklyAPI list price
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
TeamsSee tiersSeat tiers $30/$100/$200
Seat tiers: Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 per seat/mo; Plus not available for teams.
—Third-party models at API price + Cursor Token Rate $0.25/M tokens
Verified 2026-10-18
EnterpriseCustomCustom——
Verified 2026-10-18

Zed plans

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Personal$0BYOK——
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$10 /mo$5 of tokens—API list price +10%
Verified 2026-10-18
Business$30 /seatNot published——
Verified 2026-10-18

Sources

Cursor pricing · Zed pricing · Calculator

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.