WhichCodingPlan

Claude Code usage limits explained

Last verified 2026-10-18

TL;DR

  • Claude Code is included on Pro ($20/mo, or $17/mo billed annually), Max 5x ($100/mo) and Max 20x ($200/mo). The Free plan does not include Claude Code.
  • Limits reset on a rolling five-hour session window, and paid plans add weekly limits on top.
  • Claude Code and the Claude apps (web, desktop, mobile) draw from the same usage pool.
  • Anthropic publishes relative sizes (Max = 5x or 20x Pro per 5-hour session), not a fixed number of messages or tokens.

How the limits are structured

Anthropic describes usage as resetting on a rolling five-hour session window, with weekly limits added on paid plans. How much you can do depends on the length and complexity of your conversations and tasks.

Pro provides at least 5x the usage of Free per session. Max offers 5x or 20x the usage of Pro per 5-hour session, plus higher output limits.

On Max plans, the Fable model can use up to 50% of weekly limits (marked with a footnote on claude.com/pricing). On Pro, Fable is available only through usage credits.

What happens when you hit the limit

Paid plans can continue with usage credits billed at standard API rates, or switch Claude Code to pay-as-you-go API credits.

For reference, Anthropic API list prices (per million tokens, input / output): Sonnet 5.5 $2 / $10, Opus 5.5 $4 / $20, Haiku 5.5 $0.10 / $0.50 (prompts ≤100K tokens), Fable 5.1 $10 / $50.

Billing details

Max is sold monthly only. Pro can be billed annually ($200 up front, $17/mo effective).

Max plans also include monthly API credits for the Claude Platform ("$100 to $200/month" per claude.com/pricing). These are separate from Claude Code subscription usage.

Claude / Claude Code plans at a glance

PlanPriceIncludedLimits / resetOverageSource
Free$0No Claude Code——
Verified 2026-10-18
Pro$20 /mo
$200/yr annual
Claude Code; >=5x Free per session
$17/mo when billed annually ($200 upfront). Fable model only via usage credits.
5h session + weeklyUsage credits at standard API rates
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Max 5x$100 /mo5x Pro usage; plus monthly Claude Platform API credits (see notes)
Monthly only. Fable usable at 50% of weekly limits.
5h session + weeklyUsage credits at API rates
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Max 20x$200 /mo20x Pro usage; plus monthly Claude Platform API credits (see notes)
Monthly only.
5h session + weeklyUsage credits at API rates
Verified 2026-10-18
Capacity not disclosed
Enterprise$20 /seatSeat + usage billed at API rates——
Verified 2026-10-18

FAQ

How many messages do I get on Claude Pro in Claude Code?

Anthropic does not publish a fixed message count. Usage resets on a rolling 5-hour window plus weekly limits, and depends on task length and complexity.

Is Claude Max 20x really 20 times Pro?

Anthropic states Max 20x provides 20x the usage of Pro per 5-hour session. Weekly limits also apply; their absolute size is not published.

Do Claude chats and Claude Code share limits?

Yes. Activity across Claude on web, desktop, mobile and Claude Code draws from the same pool.

Can I keep working after hitting the limit?

Yes, by using usage credits billed at standard API rates, or by switching to pay-as-you-go API credits.

Not disclosed by the vendor

  • Absolute size of the 5-hour and weekly limits
  • Exact per-tier split of Max API credits (we infer 5x = $100, 20x = $200)

Sources

All Claude / Claude Code plans → · Estimate your monthly cost →

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.