Cursor vs Codex: pricing, limits & real cost
Prices verified 2026-10-18
Key differences
- Both start at $8/mo for a paid individual plan (Cursor Plus, Codex Go).
- Top individual tier: Cursor Ultra $200/mo vs Codex Pro $100/mo.
- How usage is metered — Cursor: Usage multiplier (absolute capacity not disclosed); Codex: Message ranges per 5-hour window (vendor estimates).
Estimated monthly cost by usage profile
Model used: GPT-5.6 Sol (or each vendor's own model family if it doesn't offer it). Token-per-hour figures are assumptions; open the calculator to change them.
| Profile | Cursor | Codex | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $54/mo | Premium — $57–$111/mo Computed from published $ rates | Pro — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Tweak → |
| Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $413/mo | Premium — $237–$650/mo Computed from published $ rates | Pro — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Tweak → |
| Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk API-equivalent ≈ $2,419/mo | Premium — $1,240–$3,659/mo Computed from published $ rates | Pro — $100/mo Capacity not disclosed — flat price shown | Tweak → |
For plans that don't disclose capacity we show the cheapest plan priced at or above your API-equivalent usage. This is a heuristic, not a guarantee you won't hit limits.
Cursor plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Limited Agent/chat | Resets weekly | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Plus | $8 /mo $80/yr annual | Base usage pool; Grok (4.7/4.6/4.5) & Cursor Composer 2.5 models only | Resets weekly | Cursor-model top-ups at listed rates | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Premium | $30 /mo $300/yr annual | 4x Plus pool; third-party models (Claude/GPT/Gemini) billed at API list price from prepaid credit | Resets weekly | API list price | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Super | $100 /mo $1000/yr annual | 15x Plus pool | Resets weekly | API list price | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Ultra | $200 /mo $2000/yr annual | 50x Plus pool | Resets weekly | API list price | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Teams | See tiers | Seat tiers $30/$100/$200 Seat tiers: Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 per seat/mo; Plus not available for teams. | — | Third-party models at API price + Cursor Token Rate $0.25/M tokens | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
Codex plans
| Plan | Price | Included | Limits / reset | Overage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
| Go | $8 /mo | GPT-6 Luna in desktop app (rollout) | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Plus | $20 /mo | Not published | Per 5h local messages: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3000 | Buy ChatGPT credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Pro | $100 /mo | Higher limits; tiers $100/$200/$500 (Ultrafast on $500) price_usd = entry tier | Currently no 5h limit; weekly limits may apply | Credits | Verified 2026-10-18 Capacity not disclosed |
| Business | $25 /user | Not published $20/user/mo billed annually (2+ users) per page footnote; $25 monthly | — | — | Verified 2026-10-18 |
Sources
Get pricing-change alerts
Coming soonEmail me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.
Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.