WhichCodingPlan

Cursor's October 2026 pricing change: what changed, who pays more, and the alternatives

Published 2026-10-18 · Prices verified 2026-10-18 against official pages · 8 min read · Not affiliated with any vendor

TL;DR

  • On October 12, 2026 Cursor started selling new plans through The X Subscription: Plus $8, Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 per month.[1][2]
  • The included usage now covers Cursor's own models only (Grok and Composer), as a weekly pool shared with Grok. Claude, GPT and Gemini are no longer included: on Premium and above they are billed at API list price from prepaid credit.[3]
  • Legacy Pro ($20), Pro+ ($60) and Ultra ($200) keep working if you don't switch. Switching is optional but permanent.[4]
  • Who pays more: people who mostly ran Claude or GPT inside Cursor. Who gets more: people happy with Grok/Composer, since each new plan includes at least 2x the Cursor-model usage of the plan it replaces.[4]
  • For a medium user running Claude Sonnet 5.5 (3 h/day), our calculator estimates Cursor Premium at ≈ $221/mo, versus a flat $20–$200 for Claude Pro/Max. Run your own numbers →

What exactly changed

Cursor is now sold as part of The X Subscription, a single plan covering Grok, Cursor and X. The announcement went out on October 12, 2026, with new plans available to new customers from that day.[1] On X, posts matching our Cursor-pricing query jumped to 830 on October 13 (UTC), against roughly 70–200 on the other full days that week. That spike is what prompted this guide.

Cursor's own documentation maps every legacy plan to its closest new tier:[4]

Legacy planLegacy priceComparable new plan
Hobby$0/moFree
Pro$20/moPremium ($30/mo)
Pro+$60/moSuper ($100/mo)
Ultra$200/moUltra ($200/mo)
Teams Standard$40/user/moTeams Premium seat ($30/user/mo)
Teams Premium$120/user/moTeams Super seat ($100/user/mo)

Source: Cursor docs, Legacy Cursor plans.[4] “Comparable means the closest tier, not an identical one.”

Three mechanics changed along with the prices:

  • Two monthly pools became one weekly pool. Legacy plans have a Cursor Models pool and an Other Models pool (third-party models drawn down at API price), both reset monthly. New plans have one weekly pool for Grok 4.7/4.6/4.5 and Composer 2.5, shared with the Grok apps.[4][2]
  • Third-party models left the bundle. Claude, GPT and Gemini are “not part of the included pool.” On Premium and above they bill “at the model's API list price from the first request.” Plus can't use them at all.[3][2]
  • On-demand billing became prepaid top-ups, with optional Auto Top-up and a monthly additional-usage cap.[4]

Cursor and xAI say each new plan includes “at least twice as much coding usage with our models as the comparable Cursor plan.”[1] Neither publishes the absolute size of the weekly pool, so we can verify the multipliers (4x, 15x, 50x Plus) but not what “1x” is.

Who pays more, who pays less

You probably pay more if most of your Cursor usage was Claude, GPT or Gemini. On legacy Pro, that usage came out of the included Other Models pool. Now every third-party token is billed separately on top of the plan price. One widely discussed r/cursor post put it bluntly: “Third Party model usage in Cursor is not included in the monthly prices shown.” The same post claims the legacy allowances were $20 (Pro), $70 (Pro+) and $400 (Ultra) of API-priced usage.[8] Cursor's legacy-plans page confirms the Other Models pool exists but does not state its size, so treat those numbers as a user report.[4]

You probably pay the same or less if you're fine with Grok and Composer. Plus at $8 is now the cheapest paid entry, and the comparable tiers carry at least 2x the Cursor-model usage. Cursor-model overage is also cheap by frontier standards: Composer 2.5 lists at $0.50 in / $2.50 out per million tokens, Grok 4.7 at $2 / $6.[3]

Teams get cheaper seats: Teams Standard ($40/user) maps to a $30 Premium seat, and Teams Premium ($120/user) maps to a $100 Super seat. Third-party usage on team seats also carries Cursor's Token Rate of $0.25 per million tokens.[4][3]

Cost unpredictability was already a complaint before this change. In a top r/cursor thread titled “Final straw, cancelled Cursor,” a long-time user on the $200 plan said they had averaged “$400 *extra*” a month in usage-based charges over two months, without changing their workflow.[9] The new prepaid top-ups and monthly cap make overage more visible, but they don't make third-party tokens any cheaper.

Worked example: what a month actually costs

We ran three usage profiles through our calculator, assuming you code mostly with Claude Sonnet 5.5 ($2 in / $0.10 cache read / $10 out per million tokens, the same list price on Anthropic's page and in Cursor's docs).[5][3] Token-per-hour figures are our assumptions (light 1M, medium 3M, heavy 8M input tokens per agent-hour, with 70–85% cache hits). The ranges cover 0.5x to 1.5x of that estimate.

PlanLight: 1 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $25/mo
Medium: 3 h/day, 5 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $191/mo
Heavy: 6 h/day, 6 days/wk
API-equivalent ≈ $1,104/mo
Cursor Premium ($30)≈ $55
$43–$68
≈ $221
$125–$316
≈ $1,134
$582–$1,685
Cursor Super ($100)≈ $125
$113–$138
≈ $291
$195–$386
≈ $1,204
$652–$1,755
Claude Pro ($20)$20 flat
capacity not disclosed
$20 flat
capacity not disclosed
$20 flat
capacity not disclosed
Claude Max 5x ($100)$100 flat
capacity not disclosed
$100 flat
capacity not disclosed
$100 flat
capacity not disclosed
Claude Max 20x ($200)$200 flat
capacity not disclosed
$200 flat
capacity not disclosed
$200 flat
capacity not disclosed
GitHub Copilot Pro+ ($39)≈ $39
$39–$39 · est.
≈ $160
$64–$255 · est.
≈ $1,073
$521–$1,624 · est.
GitHub Copilot Max ($100)≈ $100
$100–$100 · est.
≈ $100
$100–$186 · est.
≈ $1,004
$452–$1,555 · est.
Zed Pro ($10)≈ $33
$19–$47
≈ $215
$110–$320
≈ $1,219
$612–$1,826

How to read this:

  • Cursor Premium/Super = plan price + Claude tokens at API list price. The included pool covers only Grok/Composer, so it doesn't offset Claude usage.
  • Copilot includes $70 (Pro+) or $200 (Max) of AI credits at $0.01 each.[6] GitHub doesn't publish a per-token credit rate, so we assume credits burn at about API list price (marked “est.”).
  • Zed Pro includes $5 of tokens, then charges API list price +10%.[7]
  • Claude Pro/Max are flat, with rolling 5-hour and weekly limits whose absolute size Anthropic doesn't publish.[5] One Max 5x user reported that a full 5-hour window used about 14% of their weekly limit, roughly seven full windows per week.[10] That is one person's data point, not a spec.

The gap widens fast. For the medium profile, Claude usage worth ≈ $191 at API prices costs ≈ $221 on Cursor Premium. Claude Max 5x is a flat $100, if its limits hold up for your workload.

Who should switch to what

  • You love Cursor's editor and can live with Grok/Composer: stay. New users can start on Plus ($8) or Premium ($30, which unlocks Cloud Agents, Automations and third-party models).[2] Legacy Pro users who rarely touched Claude/GPT lose little by switching. Remember the switch is permanent.[4]
  • You mostly use Claude (Sonnet/Opus) and pay real money for it: keep your legacy plan while it lasts, or look at Claude Code on Pro ($20) or Max ($100/$200). Compare: Cursor vs Claude Code.
  • You want a dollar budget with multi-model choice inside VS Code: GitHub Copilot Pro+ ($39, $70 of credits) or Max ($100, $200 of credits). See Cursor vs GitHub Copilot.
  • You live in ChatGPT/GPT models: Codex comes with ChatGPT Plus ($20) and Pro ($100+), with published per-5-hour message ranges.[11] See Codex limits and Cursor vs Codex.
  • You want pay-as-you-go transparency: Zed Pro (API +10%) or Cline (provider cost / BYOK). Both make your token spend explicit.

Should legacy Pro users switch?

Only if most of your usage is already Grok/Composer, or you want Grok and X benefits. Switching cancels your Cursor subscription with a prorated refund, moves billing to grok.com, replaces two monthly pools with one weekly pool, and ends included third-party usage. You can't go back.[4] If you aren't sure, check your usage dashboard for how much of last month came from the Other Models pool before deciding.

FAQ

What are Cursor’s new plans and prices?

Since October 12, 2026 new customers buy Cursor through The X Subscription: Free $0, Plus $8/mo, Premium $30/mo, Super $100/mo and Ultra $200/mo (annual: $80, $300, $1,000, $2,000 per year). Usage is a weekly pool for Cursor models shared with Grok: Premium is 4x Plus, Super 15x, Ultra 50x.

Is Claude still included in Cursor?

Not in the included pool. Claude, GPT and Gemini are available on Premium and above, billed at API list price from prepaid credit starting with the first request. Plus cannot use third-party models.

Do I have to leave my legacy Cursor Pro plan?

No. Legacy Pro ($20), Pro+ ($60) and Ultra ($200) keep working with their two monthly pools unless you switch. Switching is optional and permanent.

Which new plan replaces Cursor Pro?

Cursor lists Premium ($30/mo) as the comparable plan for legacy Pro ($20/mo), Super ($100/mo) for Pro+ ($60/mo) and Ultra ($200/mo) for Ultra ($200/mo).

Is Cursor or Claude Code cheaper for heavy Claude use?

On Cursor Premium and above, every Claude token is billed at API list price on top of the subscription. Claude Pro ($20) and Max ($100/$200) are flat subscriptions with 5-hour and weekly limits whose absolute size Anthropic does not publish. If you mostly use Claude models, a flat Claude plan can cost far less than paying API rates through Cursor, provided its limits fit your usage.

Sources

  1. x.ai: Introducing The X Subscription (Oct 12, 2026) ↗
  2. Cursor Help: Pricing and plans ↗
  3. Cursor Docs: Models & pricing ↗
  4. Cursor Docs: Legacy Cursor plans ↗
  5. Anthropic: Claude pricing ↗
  6. GitHub: Copilot plans ↗
  7. Zed: Pricing ↗
  8. r/cursor: Third-party models are no longer included in any Cursor tier (user post) ↗
  9. r/cursor: Final straw, cancelled Cursor (user post) ↗
  10. r/ClaudeAI: 100% of my 5-hour limit equals 14% of my weekly limit (user post) ↗
  11. OpenAI: Codex pricing ↗

X post counts come from the X API recent-counts endpoint (our query on Cursor pricing terms, Oct 11–18, 2026). Reddit posts are user reports and are quoted as such.

Estimate your own monthly cost → · All Cursor plans · Changelog entry

Get pricing-change alerts

Coming soon

Email me when Cursor, Claude, Codex or Copilot change prices or limits.

Placeholder: signup is not live yet and no data is collected. Follow the RSS feed meanwhile.